Whiskey Dream by Taryn Rivers ~ Review + Excerpt

Whiskey Dream by Taryn Rivers ~  Review + Excerpt




 

WHISKEY DREAM

 

WELCOME BACK TO WHISKEY FALLS

 

Whiskey Dream is the second book in the Whiskey Falls series by Taryn Rivers. In the book, nothing will stop Rosalie from making her dream come true in Whiskey Falls, not even Erick, the sexy modern day viking who’s pursued her since she arrived in town.

When a gang war breaks out, Rosalie is put in danger. Can Erick keep her safe and break down her walls keeping him out?

Readers who enjoy Brynne Asher and Layla Frost will love this spicy, alpha hero, new girl in town, small town romantic suspense.

 

 

BOOK INFORMATION

 

I received an advanced reading copy (ARC) of this book from the author, publisher, or publicist. The receipt of this ARC did not influence my choice to review the book on this site. It also did not influence how I felt about the book or its characters, storyline, and overall feel. The opinions expressed in this review are my own. As such, they only deal with what is written on the pages of the book and how what is written and otherwise presented made me feel during and after my reading of the book.


Whiskey Dream by Taryn Rivers ~  Review + ExcerptWhiskey Dreams by Taryn Rivers
Series: Whiskey Falls #2
Published by Self-Published on March 31, 2022
Genres: Contemporary Romance, Romantic Suspense
Pages: 314
Format: E-Arc
Source: Publisher
Buy: Amazon | Goodreads
RATING: four-half-stars
Also in this series: Whiskey Home

Dreams can’t come true if you’re dead.

Rosalie
After spending my life fulfilling someone else’s dream, nothing will stop me from making my own come true in Whiskey Falls.
Not my parents who want me safely ensconced back home in Minnesota.
Not the sexy modern day viking who’s pursued me since I arrived.
And certainly not the gang trying to take out my sister and me.
They’re about to learn the hard way: I may act like a wallflower, but this rose has thorns.

Erick
Since the day I met her, she’s intrigued me.
The hippy florist with secrets in her eyes and walls built so high, I can’t help but want to scale them.
She resists me at every turn, making me work for what I want.
Just when I start making headway, Whiskey Falls becomes ground zero for a gang war.
Suddenly, unlocking the mystery of her isn’t my main objective.
Keeping her alive is.

 

Buy Now or Read for FREE with KindleUnlimited!

Amazon https://amzn.to/343RTgZ

 





 

BOOK REVIEW

 

Whiskey Dream is the second book in the Whiskey Falls series by Taryn Rivers and features Erick Beck, the brother of the first book’s heroine. In this story, Erick finds himself drawn to a new woman in town, a florist named Rosalie Johnson, who, along with her sister, is somehow embroiled in leftover trouble from the first book. Much like Whiskey Home, this story is also a really good mix of romance and suspense.

Rosalie is a strong, vibrant woman who can more than hold her own when trouble comes calling and Erick, a former military counterintelligence officer turned private investigator, is the perfect match for her. He’s an alpha male with both protective and possessive instincts and she’s a feisty prepper’s daughter who has been trained on how to take care of herself and her loved ones through all manner of scenarios and situations.

Like the first book, I found this book to be a fantastic romantic suspense read. The story is fast paced, engaging, and keeps readers on the edge of their seats as it also develops the romance and deepens the relationship the lead characters have to other people in town. It’s suspense with a small-town community feel and the ever-present danger those in a motorcycle club (MC) can bring to the table.

All in all, I am looking forward to where Rivers goes next in this series. So far, I’ve enjoyed both books and all the characters I’ve met between their pages.

 

 

 

BOOK EXCERPT

 

Copyright 2022 Taryn Rivers

 

I walk him to his truck, where things get awkward—at least for me. After completely screwing up our date, now I’m shoving him off. I stand here, shuffling my feet, staring at the ground. “Sorry I fu—messed up our date.”

His finger catches me under my chin, and I look up straight into a pair of amused blue eyes. “You can make it up to me tomorrow night. No dogs this time though. Your sister can watch them.”

I hold my hand up. “Erick, I don’t think that’s a good idea.”

He shakes his head. “You have no intention of even trying to see if we’re good together, do you?” He doesn’t sound mad at all. If it’s possible, he looks even more amused.

I narrow my eyes at him. He’s not taking me seriously at all. “I don’t have time for a relationship right now. I have a business to build up, a sister whose life is imploding, and a nephew to spoil. There’s no room in there for an overbearing alpha male. So no matter how hard you try, you won’t make me budge.”

A wide grin forms across his face. “Challenge accepted.”

Oh, crap. Before I can get another word out, he pulls me into him tight. His hands cup my head, fingers tangle in my hair, and his mouth comes down on mine.

I gasp in surprise, and he immediately takes advantage. He slides his tongue in and it brushes against mine, lightly at first. I freeze, but then my hand automatically curls into his shirt. That’s when he goes in for the kill. It’s not a rough, overwhelming kiss. Instead, he sips at my mouth like he’s savoring it. It’s soft and seductive.

Very seductive.

My eyes close, my head tilts for a better angle and I melt into him as desire pools in my belly. This is good. No, not just good, it’s better than I imagined it would be, and I knew it would be fucking amazing.

With one last stroke of his tongue, he breaks it off. Leaning back, he grins.

“Six o’clock, Rosalie.”

He turns and hops into his truck. With a wink, he starts it and I step back.

He reverses and then is gone, leaving me standing here speechless.

As I watch his taillights disappear around the bend, my hand reaches up and touches my lips, still warm and tingly from that kiss.

I just had to challenge the Viking warrior. I’m going to be screwed, both figuratively and literally. And after that kiss, I’m not sure I care.

 





 

This promotional event is brought to you by Indie Pen PR

 


 

What did you think of our review?

Let us know in the comment section below.

 

 


 





 

RATING
 

four-half-stars

About Taryn Rivers

Taryn Rivers lives in central Arkansas with her extremely patient husband and her golden retriever, Patton. When she’s not writing, she’s kicking back with her husband at the lake, eating her weight in fried cheese curds and fish fry while visiting family in Wisconsin, or she’s guilting her children into coming to see her. She loves reading, coffee, wine, and her family, not necessarily in that order.

Please leave a comment

This site uses User Verification plugin to reduce spam. See how your comment data is processed.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.